General information

Версия для печатиPDF versionEPUB version


The Republic of Kazakhstan is a unitary state with a presidential form of government. According to the Constitution, the country is a democratic, secular, legal and social state whose highest values are an individual, his life, rights and freedom.


Kazakhstan became independent on  December 16t, 1991. The capital of the country is Astana city. The state language is Kazakh. Russian has the status of a language of interethnic communication. Currency - tenge.

President of the Republic of Kazakhstan is the head of state, its highest official determining the main directions of domestic and foreign policy of the state and representing Kazakhstan within the country and in international relations. The President - the symbol and guarantor of the unity of the people and state power, inviolability of the Constitution, rights and freedoms of man and citizen


The government exercises executive power of the Republic of Kazakhstan, heads the system of executive bodies and exercise supervision of their activity. Legislative functions are performed by the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which consists of two chambers - the Senate and Mazhilis acting on a constant basis.

The Senate is composed of deputies representing the procedure established by constitutional law, on two persons from each region, city and the capital of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Fifteen deputies of the Senate appointed by the President, taking into account the need for representation in the Senate of national-cultural and other significant public interest. Mazhilis consists of hundred seven deputies elected in the manner prescribed by constitutional law. Nine deputies of the Mazhilis are elected by the Assembly of People of Kazakhstan. The term of office of the Senate deputies - six years, the term of office of the deputies of the Mazhilis - five years. Currently, there are three parties in Mazhilis - the "Nur Otan" People's - Democratic Party, "Ak Zhol" - Democratic Party of Kazakhstan and the Communist People's Party of Kazakhstan.


On the administrative and territorial structure of the country is divided into 14 regions and 2 cities of republican significance:


Astana - a city of republican importance - the capital of Kazakhstan

Almaty - a city of republican significance

Shymkent - a city of republican significance

Akmola region

Aktobe region

Almaty region

Atyrau region

East Kazakhstan region

Karaganda region


Kyzylorda region

Mangistau region

North-Kazakhstan region

Pavlodar region

South-Kazakhstan region

Turkestan region

West Kazakhstan region

Zhambyl region


Unofficial translation